Like most websites Air Forces Monthly uses cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Air Forces Monthly website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more


RAAF’s No 77 Squadron marks 75th anniversary

Photo: A No 77 Squadron F/A-18A displaying the 75th anniversary tail art, on the squadron flight line at RAAF Base Williamtown. CPL Nicci Freeman/Commonwealth of Australia, Department of Defence

The scheme was painted by personnel No 81 Wing Combined workshops.

CPL Nicci Freeman/Commonwealth of Australia, Department of Defence

No 77 Squadron was formed in Perth on March 16, 1942 with P-40 Kittyhawk aircraft operated out of RAAF Base Pearce. The squadron flew 18,872 sorties in Korea, and lost 52 aircraft and 42 pilots. During this period it flew P-51 Mustang and Gloster Meteor aircraft.

The unit has been based at RAAF Base Williamtown, New South Wales since 1969 and has operated the F/A-18A since July 1987.

Posted in News


Our Instant Issue Service sends you an email whenever a new issue of Air Forces Monthly is out. SAVE ON QUEUES - FREE P&P